Monday, December 27, 2010

Amanuensis Monday: Future Farmers of America (1937)

An Amanuensis is a person employed to write what another dictates or to copy what has been written by another. 

Source: Alexandria-Monroe High School Spectrum, Alexandria, Indiana, 1937

The Future Farmers of America

First row from left to right: Leroy Waymire, Arthur McMahan, Paul Thurston, William Cranfill.  Second row: Basil Retherford, Eugene Hannah, John Featherston, Elbert Hague, Eugene Derstler, Noel Maddox, David Teague, Frank Tobin.  Third row: Eugene Fields, Robert Hobbs, William Blake, Forest McMahan, Bernard Balser, Fred Johnson, John Nacoff, Ralph Porter, Mr. Disque. Back row: Omer Young, Verne Sullivan, Harold Bess, Keith Sizelove, Harry Ellis, Fred Inglis, Lyle Summers, Charles Sayre, William Wright, Dale Blacklidge.

The Future Farmers of America is a National Organization of farm boys studying vocational agriculture with chapters throughout the United States, Hawaii, and Porto Rico.  Its purpose is to create more interest in farming as an occupation, and to instill and nurture a love of country life.

The thirty-three members of the local chapter participate in judging and corn husking contests, and their basketball team furnishes recreation.  Paul Thurston won the Hoosier Farmer Degree.

President: Herman Brown
Vice-President: Arthur McMahan
Secretary: William Cranfill
Treasurer: Leroy Waymire
Reporter: Robert Inglis
Faculty Adviser: Mr. Disque

My maternal grandfather, William Lee Wright, is pictured in the back row.

Amanuensis Monday is a daily blogging theme which encourages the family historian to transcribe family letters, journals, audiotapes, and other historical artifacts. Amanuensis Monday is a popular ongoing series created by John Newmark at Transylvanian Dutch.

No comments: