Tuesday, May 05, 2015

Directors of Southwestern Alexandria Telephone Company, 1918

"Telephone Officers," announcement, Alexandria Times-Tribune, 8 January 1918; online images, Newspapers.com (www.newspapers.com : accessed 29 March 2015).
Telephone Officers -

M.E. Blacklidge has been elected president of the Southwestern Alexandria Farmers Telephone Co. and James Wright, secretary, and Robert Thurston, treasurer.  The directors are: Virgil Wright, Walter Davis, Robert Thurston, James Wright and M.E. Blacklidge.  The company maintains a party line in the country southwest of Alexandria.

My maternal great-grandfather, Virgil Lee Wright (1894-1972)was listed as the director of the Southwestern Alexandria Farmers Telephone Co., along with his uncle, James Wright.

My folks have a copy of a stock certificate for this company.  It would be interesting to find out more about it and see how it fared.  I did find an earlier article about its' formation in 1908.

Alexandria Times-Tribune, 17 Apr 1908, page 4

Will Connect Its Lines With Those of Alexandria Exchange

The members the Southwestern Alexandria telephone Co., met last evening at Andrew Berg's and selected the following directors to serve for one year: James Wright, Andrew Berg, Jordan Reeves, Lawrence Hollowell and M.E. Blacklidge.  The company expects to have the line connected with the D. and M. lines at Alexandria and in operation by May 1st with the following subscribers Thomas and R.G. Ellis, Jordon Reeves, James Edward and Joseph Wright, Andrew Berg, Wm. Tennell, Warren Stephenson, M.E. Blacklidge, Noah Whetsel, Ed. Fuller, A.M. Peck, Johnson Maynard and T.G. May.

No comments: